Rom Named In PFA Team Of The Year


Ronald Koeman has praised the development of Romelu Lukaku's all-round game after the Blues striker was named in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year.

The Belgium international has been voted into the top flight XI by PFA members from 100 clubs across the Premier League, Football League and Women’s Super League.

Lukaku has enjoyed a fine season with Everton and currently tops the Premier League scoring charts with 24 goals. He has also been shortlisted for both the PFA Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year, which will be announced at the 44th PFA Awards in the Grosvenor House, London on Sunday.

And his Club manager pointed to Lukaku's continued improvement in all aspects of his play as to why he has become one of the top strikers in Europe.

"Romelu has made a big impact, of course, with the goals he has scored this season," said Koeman.

"But his continued development in different aspects of play are just as significant in terms of his all-round effectiveness and productivity.

"He is continually improving and it's that total picture that makes him one of the best strikers."

The PFA Premier League Team of the Year in full is:

Goalkeeper: David de Gea (Manchester United).

Defenders: Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur); David Luiz (Chelsea); Gary Cahill (Chelsea); Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur).

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur); Eden Hazard (Chelsea); N'Golo Kanté (Chelsea); Sadio Mane (Liverpool).

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur); Romelu Lukaku (Everton).

Related Tags

Official Member, Season Ticket Holder or Lounge Member? 

Login then click HERE to check out the latest exclusive content, including The Everton Show Extra, Everton Podcast and The Ambassador Show.


View More
  • Pickford Out To Build On England Cap
  • Teammates: Chloe Kelly & Meg Finnigan
  • Boss Has Been Brilliant For Me, Says Kenny
  • Unsworth Detects Signs Of Blues Improvement
  • Niasse Will Keep Fighting For Striker Spot
  • Crystal Palace 2 - 2 Everton - Extended Highlights