Evertonians will be able to discover all there is to know about Goodison Park this weekend as the Museum of Liverpool celebrates 120 years of the famous stadium.
In partnership with the Everton Heritage Society, the National Football Museum and Everton in the Community, the two-day ‘Glory of Goodison’ event will pay homage to the Club’s iconic home through a series of talks, tours and interactive activities.
Goodison Park has been home to Everton since it opened in 1892 and throughout its long history has encountered bomb damage, the death of the Club’s greatest ever player, Dixie Dean, and played host to more top-flight games than any other stadium in England.
It was the world’s first four-sided double-decker stadium and the first football ground in England to have dugouts, fit a scoreboard and install undersoil heating.
Talks at the Museum, which opened on the city’s waterfront last year, will cover the legendary Dean and other great Everton centre-forwards, the history of the Toffee Lady, the Club’s tour of South America in 1909, the close links of Everton and Liverpool Football Clubs, the invention of goal nets, the 1933 FA Cup final ball and the great T. G. Jones, the so-called ‘Prince of Centre Halves’.
Tours will also take place, as well as object handling sessions, football-themed arts and crafts and children’s story-telling.
And if that’s not enough, the Museum of Liverpool has more to offer in the ‘Wondrous Place‘ gallery – an exhibition highlighting sport and creativity in the city. Visitors can learn about the history of football in Merseyside and experience Kicking and Screaming, a 360-degree immersive film experience which explores Liverpool's passion for football and the unique rivalry and success of Everton and Liverpool Football Clubs.
The Glory of Goodison event will take place on Saturday 17 and Sunday 18 November. For more information call 0151 478 4545.