1890/91 Season

In a historic campaign for English football, Everton were the first club to lift the League Championship trophy, at Anfield in 1891.

It was the season where nets, penalty kicks and the famous trophy were introduced for the first time, coinciding with Everton's first success.

The Toffeemen became only the second club to win the title, following two consecutive wins for Preston North End.

Everton got off to a flying start with comprehensive wins over West Brom, Wolves, Bolton, Accrington Stanley and Derby County.

Fred Geary scored nine goals in those fixtures and ably assisted by a forward line that included Edgar Chadwick and Alf Milward, the club totalled an amazing 63 goals in 22 matches.

Everton also boasted the second meanest defence in the country, making them an extremely formidable outfit.

Having won seven out of their last eight games, Everton travelled to Burnley on March 14, 1891, knowing that they would have to lose by six clear goals in order to give Preston a chance of stealing the title.

Preston were defeated at Roker Park, making the Toffees 2-3 defeat inconsequential.

Everton, Merseyside's first club, were the first club in the district to win the league… and they did it at Anfield!